Why are some subjects split into tests for 2-5 and 6+, while some aren't?

Document created by Community User on Sep 22, 2016Last modified by Community User on Aug 23, 2017
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
In some subjects, like math and reading, NWEA splits the tests into grades 2-5 and grades 6+, while in some subjects, like language, we don't. Why is this?


Reading: Split into 2-5 and 6+

Splitting the reading test allows us to better provide age-appropriate reading material. Because the test is adaptive, students at all grades will be presented with the appropriate RIT or complexity of item regardless of grade. Splitting the test helps us sculpt this fully adaptive experience. The 2-5 test can exclude high school standards that are not appropriate for the elementary learner. Similarly, the 6+ test can exclude standards that are not assessed at the high school grades. For both tests, we ensure that all reading material is age-appropriate.

Math: Split into 2-5 and 6+

Math standards and curriculum change focus between grades 5 and 6, so the math assessments deliver content that is fairly exclusive to each grade range. For example, the instructional area Probability and Statistics only appears in the upper grades (MAP Growth 6+). In an adaptive test, if we did not split 2-5 and 6+, this concept could appear for any 2-12 MAP taker who is performing at that RIT.

Language: 2-12

The language assessments are predominately populated by items with fairly short reading passages and more discrete skills. This means the reading load of the items is low and the difficulty of the skill being assessed tends to put the right content in front of the right test-takers. Therefore, we do not currently split the language test. However, as we design more complex items, it is possible that we may have a future need to split the tests in this scale.

See also:

Article Number