What RIT is used to determine the goal area ranges like Lo, LoAvg?

Document created by Community User on Jan 9, 2017Last modified by Community User on Sep 27, 2019
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
What are the RIT scores used to sort goal area scores into ranges (for example: Low, Low Average, Average, High Average, High - also known as "goal descriptors")? What are the RIT cut offs or cut scores between each category or descriptor?

The 5 ranges (Lo, LoAvg, Avg, HiAvg, Hi - also known as "goal descriptors") in reports are based on the NWEA norms and correspond to percentile ranges of 20 points each, or quintiles. For example, the lowest quintile covers the 1st through 20th percentiles. Descriptors and corresponding percentile ranges are as follows:
  • Low: 20th percentile or lower
  • LoAvg: 21st to 40th percentiles
  • Avg: 41st to 60th percentiles
  • HiAvg: 61st to 80th percentiles
  • Hi: 81st percentile or higher

To determine which quintile a student's goal area score is in, we compare the student's goal score to the norms for the overall subject. We do not have separate norms or percentiles for each goal area. If the student's goal score is reported as a range (for example, 200-210), then the goal score we use to determine the quintile is the number in the middle of this range.

A 6th grade student takes a reading assessment in fall, and in the goal area "Literature", they get a range of 210-218. The middle of this range is 214. The report will compare the score 214 to the reading norms to determine the percentile. In this case, assuming the default number of weeks of instruction before testing, the percentile would be 68. The 68th percentile falls within the "High-Average" quintile range which covers the 61st through 80th percentiles.

Goal descriptors can appear on the following reports:
See also:

Article Number