Unable to delete user

Document created by Community User on Oct 30, 2017
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Symptom
When trying to delete a user, the Delete option is unavailable

Explanation
You cannot delete a user if you are logged in as that user. If you are trying to delete an instructor, the instructor may have classes and terms assigned.

Solution
NWEA does not recommend deleting users. Instead, we recommend deactivating. If you are trying to delete a duplicate user, see How to correct duplicate users in MAP.

 
To deactivate a user instead of deleting them:

  1. Under Manage Users, search for the user you would like to deactivate.
  2. Select the user and select Inactivate.

 
To delete a user:

If you are logged in as the user you are trying to delete, log out and log in with another user.

If you are not logged in as the user you are trying to delete, this user may be an instructor with assigned classes and terms. In order to delete a user that is assigned as an instructor, you must remove any assigned classes in all existing terms by following these steps:
  1. Search for the user to be deleted.
  2. Click View/Update.
  3. Under the Instructor heading, select one of the terms, and click View/Update Term to view the class list.
    • Any inactive terms will not appear. If you need to reactivate terms, go to Modify Preferences > Manage Terms.
  4. Select the class, and click Delete Class.
    • Classes with students cannot be deleted unless there is another instructor assigned to the class.
    • To re-assign the class to another instructor, see Assigning a Class to Another Instructor under Fix Teacher Profiles in the MAP Help Center.
    • If you wish to remove all students from the class instead, see How to add or modify student classes. Students with no classes will not appear on reports.
  5. Repeat step 4 for each class listed.
  6. Click Update Term.
  7. Repeat steps 3 through 6 for all other terms listed.
  8. Click Submit at the bottom and review your changes.
  9. Click Submit to save. You should get a message saying the user profile has been updated successfully.
  10. Once all terms have been modified and classes removed, you will be able to delete the user.

See also: How to correct duplicate users in MAP

Article Number
000002222

Attachments

    Outcomes