How Reading Mastery Checks identify reading status for a grade level

Document created by Community User on Nov 1, 2017Last modified by Community User on Feb 6, 2020
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Mastery Checks for reading give both the reading status for the selected grade level of text complexity, and which skills in the strand need work.


Structure of the Mastery Check

The Mastery Check has two reading passages aligned to the text complexity of the chosen grade level. The student answers seven to nine questions (depending on the grade and strand) for each passage. Each question is aligned to a different reading skill.

Reading status:

A grade level in any strand may have one of three statuses:
  • Independent - The student is ready for the next reading grade level.
  • Instructional - The student is ready for instruction on this reading grade level.
  • Below Instructional Level - You should re-test at the next lower grade level to establish the student's instructional reading level.

For more details, see Status Definitions > For Reading Grade Level in the MAP Help Center.

Needs work:

A reading skill is designated as needs work if a student responds incorrectly to any item assigned to the skill. Recall that the student answers questions relating to two passages, and each question relates to one of the skills. This means a student answers two questions for each skill.

How does the Reading Skills Locator differ from the Mastery Check?

As of Fall 2018, the Reading Skills Locator is adaptive, similar to Skills Locators for other subjects. When a student takes a Skills Locator in Reading, the test will adapt to the student’s level, and determine the student’s instructional grade level. The Skills Locator will not identify reading grades as “Below Instructional” or “Independent”, and the Skills Locator does not provide any statuses for individual skills (such as “Needs Work” or “Mastered”).

For more information, see How Skills Locators work.

See also:

Article Number