About the Foundational Skills and Adaptive Oral Reading assessments in MAP Reading Fluency

Document created by Community User on May 7, 2018Last modified by Community User on Feb 27, 2020
Version 39Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
MAP Reading Fluency tests are available in two types: Foundational Skills and Adaptive Oral Reading.

There are four types of MAP Reading Fluency tests available to all students:
  • Foundational Skills test
  • Foundational Skills: Beginner
  • Grade-specific Adaptive Oral Reading test
  • Adaptive Oral Reading: Passages Only

Length: Each assessment is about 20 minutes in length.

Default test assignment: For newly added students or at the start of a new term, MAP Reading Fluency auto-assigns the Adaptive Oral Reading test. This can be changed from the Assignments tab if needed.

Foundational Skills

The Foundational Skills assessment is an adaptive assessment testing skills such as letter-sounds fluency, initial sound fluency, letter knowledge (letter ID or letter naming), listening comprehension and vocabulary. Depending on how a student performs on a particular skill, they will advance to a more or less difficult skill, so they may not be assessed in all of the available skills. If students demonstrate enough ability in earlier sub-tests, there may also be silent word and sentence reading. This assessment also contains a rapid automatized naming portion which requires the use of a microphone.

The Foundational Skills test content is designed for younger children, and the measurement ceiling for the test is first-grade skills. Older students assigned Foundational Skills will always receive a score of Below Grade Level in all areas. See Students showing Below Expectation in Foundational Skills for more information.

Foundational Skills: Beginner

This assessment is similar to the Foundational Skills assessment, however, it starts from the lowest ZPD level, and will not go above ZPD level 2. This test form is appropriate for students in pre-kindergarten and the start of kindergarten. Students should move to the standard Foundational Skills once they have had formal instruction in early literacy.

Adaptive Oral Reading

Grades PK - 3:

The Adaptive Oral Reading test starts with students reading a 50-word picture book aloud and then completing a timed sentence-picture matching task to assess basic comprehension skills. If the student passes the sentence-picture matching task, the test branches to the student orally reading 3 passages, each containing 6 comprehension questions. If the student fails the sentence-picture matching task, the student is routed to the Foundational Skills assessment instead.

What score determines if a student is routed to the Foundational Skills test during testing?
A student must answer 15 or more questions correctly at 75% or greater accuracy during the 2-minute long Sentence Reading Fluency to proceed to the Adaptive Oral Reading test. Otherwise, the student will be routed to the Foundational Skills test. For example, a student who scores 14/14 will not qualify for Adaptive Oral Reading, but a student who scores 16/20 would progress to Adaptive Oral Reading.

Grades 4+

Students in grade 4 or higher are asked to orally read 3 passages, with 6 comprehension questions per passage. The test will not adapt downwards to Foundational Skills. If a student in this grade needs to take Foundational Skills, you can assign that assessment instead of Adaptive Oral Reading.

Test flowchart

See the attached document for a flowchart showing how the test proceeds based on the student's performance.

Adaptive Oral Reading: Passages Only

This assessment is similar to the standard Adaptive Oral Reading assessment, however, it only presents reading passages from the standard Adaptive Oral Reading assessment, and will not adapt down to Foundational Skills. This assessment is appropriate for students who are confident readers.

See also:

Article Number