Student instructions are unexpectedly displaying in Spanish

Document created by Community User on Aug 12, 2019
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Symptom
The student instructions such as those on the sign-in screen are displayed in Spanish.

Explanation
Checking the box for “Mostrar instrucciones en español” on the student sign-in page enables the option to display student instructions in Spanish. If using browser only testing, the student instructions may default to Spanish if the browser was not closed between test administrations and Spanish instructions were enabled for the previous student.

Solution
The instructions can be changed back to English from the student sign-in screen. The steps required to return to the sign-in screen depend on where the student is in the sign-in or testing process:
  1. Check the proctor screen in the active test session to determine the status of the student:
    • Awaiting Student – refer to the student’s device for next steps:
      1. If the student is on the sign-in screen, uncheck the box for “Mostrar instrucciones en español”.
      2. If the student is on the screen to confirm if their information is correct, click No. This brings the student back to the sign-in screen.
      3. On the student sign-in screen, uncheck the box for “Mostrar instrucciones en español”.
    • Confirmed, To be Confirmed:
      1. Select the student and choose Do Not Confirm from the Select Action menu.
      2. The student will receive a message "Por favor, inicia sesión de nuevo." (Please log in again).
      3. Have the student click the arrow button to return to the sign-in screen.
      4. On the student sign-in screen, uncheck the box for “Mostrar instrucciones en español”.
    • Testing, Paused:
      1. Determine whether you want to save the student's progress in the test they started, and act accordingly:
        • To save their progress: Select the student and choose Suspend from the Select Action menu.
        • To discard their progress: Select the student and choose Terminate from the Select Action menu. The test will be lost. This action cannot be undone.
      2. Select the student again and choose Test Again from the Select Action menu.
      3. The student's status should now be Awaiting Student.
      4. Have the student log back in to the testing session.
      5. On the sign-in screen, uncheck the box for “Mostrar instrucciones en español”.
    • Suspended, Terminated, Completed:
      1. Select the student and choose Test Again from the Select Action menu.
      2. The student's status should now be Awaiting Student.
      3. Have the student log back in to the testing session.
      4. On the sign-in screen, uncheck the box for “Mostrar instrucciones en español”.
  2. The student should now join the test session as normal.
 

Article Number
3808

Attachments

    Outcomes