What does "Overwrite" do when importing rosters?

Document created by Community User on Jul 29, 2016Last modified by Community User on Feb 18, 2019
Version 4Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Question
What does "Overwrite" do when importing rosters?

Answer
If you select Overwrite, all roster and program data for the schools included in the file you import will be overwritten for the term. If you do not upload a programs file, all existing programs will be deleted.

 
What existing data is removed?

  • Term information (including programs) for students at all schools included in the file
  • Term information for instructors at all schools included in the file

 
What data is not removed or changed?

  • Test results
  • Student and instructor profiles
  • Data for any school not included in the file
  • Instructor logins and passwords

 
When should I use the Overwrite option?

Some organizations with a highly mobile student population import rosters regularly with the Overwrite option selected. This allows these organizations to more easily process school changes and unenrollments.

Aside from these considerations, the major reason to use the overwrite option is if the first roster contained a major error, such as students all rostered with the wrong grade or ID.

 
What are the risks?

If you omit any students who have tested, those students will become unrostered and will not appear on reports. You must re-add their required reporting attributes to allow their test results to appear on reports again.

 
Can I import the roster while students are testing?

Yes, you can import rosters during testing. The test experience will not be affected, and existing test sessions will not be changed. If any students become unrostered and are actively taking a test, they will be able to complete their test. Their results will be saved, but will not appear on reports as described above.


See also:

Article Number
1851

Attachments

    Outcomes